Friday, September 18, 2015

Photo Credits: Pantip
BANGKOK, THAILAND. Floods inundated towns and cities in the eastern provinces of Thailand as Tropical Storm Vamco struck the eastern part of the country prompting authorities to declare 5 provinces as disaster areas. 

On Thursday, Thai government officials announced that Chonburi, including Pattaya, Trat, Chanthaburi, Surin, and Si Sa Ket be put under state of disaster after the tropical storm caused damage and havoc in the areas.

Pattaya Mayor Ittipol Khunpluem told Bangkok Post the disaster declaration would help facilitate state relief and assistance to the affected areas although flooding has subsided. 

"Authorities are closely monitoring the weather since rainfall has continued to a certain extent", Mr Ittipol said. 

Experts believe that the heavy flooding that brought about damages in many parts of the area is caused by storm surges and high-level roads that block drainage systems in Pattaya and Rayong. 

Officials said Si Sa Ket province was the worst hit by the tropical storm. 

In Pattaya, flooding all over the city reached 30 centimeters high in less than an hour. 

Flooding warnings are also up to the following provinces: 
  • Nakhon Nayok
  • Prachin Buri
  • Chon Buri
  • Rayong
  • Chanthaburi
  • Trat
  • Bangkok and surrounding provinces
  • Phetchaburi
  • Prachuap Khiri Khan
  • Ranong 
  • Phangnga
  • Phuket
  • Trang
  • Krabi 
  • Satun
Despite the flooding, tourism activities in Pattaya continue except at the sea, officials said. 


Post a Comment