Wednesday, August 19, 2015

YOUNG MATH WIZARDS. The Philippine teams in the separate Mathematics competition in China.
Photo: MTG/MathDAP
MANILA, PHILIPPINES. Another group of young Filipino mathematicians brought home a total of 27 medals in two recently concluded competitions in China. 

Five delegates represented the country at the China Girls Mathematical Olympiad (CGMO) in Guangdong from August 10 to 14, and each of them earned a medal in their respective category. 

Silver medalists were: Andrea Jaba and Jinger Chong who are both from St. Jude Catholic School in Muntinlupa. The other three girls earned bronze medals. They were: Isabel Jocyn Villanueva of PAREF Woodrose School in Muntinlupa; Natalie Beatrice Dy of St. John's Institute in Bacolod City and Tiifany Mae Ong of Immaculate Conception Academy in San Juan.

Also Read: Filipino primary Math Olympians sweep up 69 medals at Math contest in China

The Philippines and China topped the competition which was also participated by the United States, Singapore, Russia, Malaysia, Indonesia, Macau and Hong Kong.

At the 2015 World Mathematics Invitational (WMI) contest held in Gullin from August 8 to 12,  the Philippine contingents won three gold medals, 19 bronze medals and 30 merit awards, 
According to the list of the Mathematics Academy of the Philippines (MathDAP), the winners are as follows:

Gold Medal
1. Philip Ezekiel Tan III - Philippine Science High School-Main
2. Ayezza Myrisse Candelario - Negros Occidental National Science High School
3. Eric Fabian Mendez Jr. - Philippine Science High School-Bicol Region

Bronze Medal
1. Evan Nathaniel Collantes - Divine Light Academy
2. Nathan Gabriel Neria - Grace Christian College
3. Alyanna Almirol - Falcon School
4. Franz Achilles Lindayag - Ateneo de Davao University
5. Cyrus Nolasco - Dasmariñas II Central School
6. Andrea Zyrene Palisoc - BHC Educational Institution
7. Jehan Domenden - St. Paul College of Ilocos Sur
8. Angie Claryl Caccam - Tuguegarao West Central School
9. Gianna Patricia Jimenez - San Beda College-Alabang
10. Martin Johan Ocho - De La Salle Zobel
11. Bedrich Damasco - Immaculate Conception Parochial School
12. Justin Reign Aguinaldo - Philippine Yuh Chiau School
13. Hannah Isabelle Mediavillo - Colegio San Agustin-Biñan
14. Amery Caleb Atinon - Xavier School
15. Natasha Mae Delmo - Dr. Vicente F. Gustilo Memorial National High School
16. Nazka Leosala - Taguig Science High School
17. Makarios Joash Wee - Philippine Christian Gospel School
18. Maria Cassandra Vitug - International British Academy
19. Nicanor Chan Jr. - St. Paul University

Merit Award
1. Kyla Keith Tan - Lanao Chung Hua School
2. Kristen Anne Deodores - Colegio San Agustin - Biñan
3. Shaun Nicolo Salazar - PAREF Southridge School
4. Daryl Josef Fernandez - Dasmariñas II Central School
5. Joan Ian Ross Llavore - Macalva Elementary School
6. Roy Vincent Lopico - Saint Barachiel Special Science School
7. Jhurgen Keith Selwyn Pascua - Eastern Gate Christian Academy
8. Maria Domnique Beltran - University of St. Louis Tuguegarao
9. Ashlyn FarahTadeo - Jesus is Lord Colleges Foundation
10. Alexa Frann Barbadillo - Colegio de San Ignacio
11. Jan Michael Ortaliz - Trinity Christian School
12. Karylle Faye Lopez - Tuguegarao West Central School
13. Jomico Marcus Costales - BHC Educational Institution
14. Kasey Amira Cristobal - Columban College - Barreto
15. Ella Katrina Sesuca - St. Paul College of Ilocos Sur
16. Melissa Joy Co - Ke Bing School
17. Ma. Allyssa Bea Duya - Iloilo Scholastic Academy
18. Macky Emerson Benitez - St. Augustine's School
19. Francesca Bettina Bernabe - Philippine Yuh Chiau School
20. Kasler Dell Abansi - BHC Educational Institution
21. Julla Gray Cerezo - Divine Word Academy of Dagupan
22. Marinel Conceja - Lyceum of Aparri
23. Josua James Angelo Galotera - Philippine Science High School-Western Visayas
24. Ivaniel Salen - Sen. Renato Compañero Cayetano Memorial Science and Technology High School
25. Bryan Kier Leopando - Tagbilaran City Science High School
26. Diego Gabriel Rodriguez - on Bosco Technical Institute
27. Jethro Mendoza - Regional Science High School I
28. Samantha Jule Ebarle - University of San Carlos-South
29. Christel Joyce Castro - Sen. Renato Compañero Cayetano Memorial Science and Technology High School
30. Markus Christoffer Toribio - Lyceum of Aparri

Other participating countries include Taiwan, Thailand, Malaysia, Korea, and Macau.


Post a Comment